What’s your sign?

My son Christopher is the better photographer by far, but he was kind enough to suggest I take one of his cameras along when I went to visit Lizabeth between acting camp sessions at the Utah Shakespearean Festival in Cedar City last month.

I discovered while reviewing my photos that I apparently have a thing for signs–signs describing statues, signs adorning storefronts and more. So here’s a brief tour of Cedar City and Utah Shakespearean Festival highlights ala signage…

Bench near statue of festival founder Fred C. Adams
An early version of the GPS, perhaps?
Signage for King Lear statue near the Randall L. Jones Theatre
Welcome sign featuring 2010 festival dates

Show banners line walls near the festival box office

Utah's first "dry" Irish pub--with the yummiest chocolate cake in town

Home of the festival Cabaret, local artwork and a mean espresso

Home of some serious vinyl and cozy spot for live local music

One of many funky shops we enjoyed during a rainstorm

Donation can at Braun bookstore--which features an eclectic collection of titles

One of several festival flags lining a walkway at SUU

Sign noting the festival's daily offerings

Poster for one of many art exhibits in the area

List of shows you can enjoy at the festival this year

A sneak peek of festival shows coming next season

Fabulous place to find gifts for teachers, children, friends and self

My new favorite vacation destination

Essential sign for those of us with poor mapping skills

True, a slideshow of mother/daughter time in Utah might have been more interesting–but what teen really wants to see her face plastered all over her mother’s blog?

Instead I hope you’ve enjoyed this glimpse into the many fun options for enjoying art, music, Shakespeare and more in charming Cedar City.

Technically, my sign is Scorpio (no great surprise to those who know me well)–but I prefer to think of myself as a “Shakes.”

–Lynn

Leave a Reply

